Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 18th, 2010

no actual picnic

today is international picnic day. i have had no picnic today.

we started off today on a splendid note. i got to go to celia’s 5th grade culmination. i took lots of photos and video for danny. he is off shooting a movie in santa fe and couldnt be there. look at how adorable she was. i am so proud of her!

celia in her red dress and feathers. i love this child.

i also love her because that the shoes she chose are sparkley kiddie chuck t's.

well on a more disgusting note. ever since wednesday when a stow away woodtick decided to embed himself in the back of my left thigh….i have been a panicing freaking mess. first because i hate fucking woodticks more than anything ever. second, cuz this tick did something to my leg that has been growing and itching and freaking me out even more ever since. and btw, i have no health insurance.

as my cute doc pointed out, it has the markings of lyme but what you cant see is that its also very raised and swollen...well beyond the bullseye markings. so this fucker did it all right. or wrong i suppose for me

i spent all day today at the free clinic that my friends use here in north hollywood. the staff at valley community clinic is stellar. they are nice and efficient and really seem to care about all the folks that passed through that waiting room today. i had my latop and was working but, i was also people watching. it’s better than an airport.

once i got in to see dr. ericson he was really kinda cute. charming. funny and very thorough. they made me do a physical because i am a new patient and he has also scheduled me for a pap, regular physical blood work based on discussed family history, and a dental exam in addition to my follow up for this appointment.my mother is going to be so happy when she reads this.

after looking at and taking pictures of both my leg and the tick itself. he said, “little rat bastard” when he slid open the box and saw the tick. which made me giggle. he thinks that the markings could suggest lymes but that i am from the UP and have had ticks before chances are i have had lymes for years and just never been really bothered by it. he DID give me a prescription for doxcycycline as a preventative measure anyway and is running tests for it too.

his biggest concern was the raised and pussy kind of appearance and the unusual reaction that i was having. he suspects that the tick pushed through my skin at a point where naturally occuring staph was living and thus the massive infection that i now have. he checked my lymph node on my hip and i giggled my silly ass off as he put his hands down my pants kinda. im very ticklish especially around the belly and i just cant help it. he doesnt think that the infection has passed to the blood yet and this is good and gave me a scrip for sulfamethox to treat that infection. that one is his primary concern. i need to watch it and see if swelling goes down. he wants me to call in a couple of days to let him know….i love him…..and if i get a fever i am to immediately go to the hospital to get it lanced in the ER. YIPPEE.

over all though he was only going over worst case scenarios. nothing to panic about he says. just keep en eye on and the scrips will help. he really did take every precaution. did a lot of tests. asked a lot of questions including about family history and other medications i may be on. 😉 when telling me about these drugs and possible side effects, one of them can cause upset stomach, nausea, he winked and said “but you can use your other medication for that” HAHAHAHA! seriously. i love this guy.

though i did not have a picnic actually and i spent the day dealing with a disgusting growth on my body due to one of the banes of my existence…today was kind of a picnic. good service. cute doctor. and zillions of friends and family calling, emailing and checking in with concern. sometimes bad things are good.

Read Full Post »